Standing Committees

Much behind-the-scenes work at FSMN is done by standing committees of the School Committee and Ad Hoc Committees. Membership on these committees includes School Committee members, parents, staff, other Quakers and other interested individuals. Current standing committees include:

Committee on Trustees

Committee on Trustees recruits new members for School Committee and all standing committees. Committee on Trustees also provides support to the School Committee and standing committees, ensuring that FSMN's governance structure is functioning well.

  • Jeff Severns Guntzel, Co-Clerk
  • Christine Salomon, Co-Clerk
  • Dhaivyd Hilgendorf, Rec Clerk
  • Eric Salverda, Member
  • Nora Murphy, Member
  • James Farnsworth, Member
  • Caroline Schnieders, Member
  • Cindy Garcia, Member
  • Angie Brain, Member
  • Jessica Griffith, Member
  • Shalini Gupta, Member
  • Carolyn Carr, Member

Development Committee

The Development Committee is the primary fundraising arm of the school. The Development Committee establishes and operates programs that nurture the FSMN community, providing substantial financial and non-financial support to FSMN's operations, capital improvements and maintenance and FSMN's endowment

  • Jeanine Holden, Co-Clerk
  • Brent Dalzell, Co-Clerk
  • Dawn Zugay, Member
  • Taylor Fay, Member
  • Jenni Bratulich, Ex-Officio

Equity and Justice Committee

The Equity and Justice Committee works with staff, SC and parents to ensure FSMN is welcoming to all members of the school community. E&J also acts as a resource to students and teachers on equity and justice issues, organizes events for the school community that focus attention on equity and justice issues, and develops and recommends policy on equity and justice aspects of school governance, admissions, and personnel.

  • Todd Bratulich, Rec Clerk
  • Amanda McCormick, Member
  • Sarah Pradt, Member
  • Sheila Williams Ridge, Member
  • Gita Ghei, Member
  • Evelyn Christian-Ronning, Ex-Officio

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee (EC) establishes the agenda for monthly school committee meetings, ensures School Committee decisions are implemented, approves expenditures if the SC is not able to convene and act in a timely manner; and conducts the annual performance review of the head-of-school.

The Executive Committee is comprised of the School Committee Clerk, Assistant Clerk, Treasurer, Recording Clerk, and one at-large member.

  • Evelyn Christian Ronning, Clerk
  • Julie Eddington, Asst. Clerk
  • David Bael, Finance Clerk
  • Laura Halferty, Recording Clerk
  • Sarah Pradt, At Large
  • Rick Juliusson, Ex-Officio

Finance Committee

The Finance Committee is responsible for the financial oversight of the school. The Finance Committee's primary responsibility is recommending annual operating and capital budgets to the SC for review and action. The school's operating budget involves the balancing of several factors, including estimates of enrollment, tuition levels, and expenditures.

  • David Bael, Clerk
  • Kate Heider, Member
  • Diwaker Gupta, Member
  • Chuck Gillen O'Neil, Member
  • Cathy Coon, Member

Quaker Life Committee

The Quaker Life Committee works with the administration and staff the charge of nurturing the Quaker foundation and values of the school. 

  • Kathy Quick, Clerk
  • Chris Dart, Member
  • Andrew Rutledge, Member
  • Becky Flory, Member
  • Sue Tuggle, Member

Please check with the school office for meeting times and questions about being a guest at a meeting. 

If you are interested in learning more about FSMN's standing committees or know someone who might be interested in serving on a governance committee, contact the clerk of Committee on Trustees Jeff Severns Gunztel.