Governance: School Committee

Friends School of Minnesota is a nonprofit corporation. The 16 to 21-member board of directors of Friends School is called the School Committee. The School Committee adopts school policies and is the legal body ultimately responsible for the financial health and operation of the school.

Complete School Committee job description (pdf 69.08 KB)

Friends Council on Education, the national organization of Quaker schools, requires that a Quaker school either be “under the care of” a Quaker Meeting or that the School Committee contain a majority of Quakers. Since FSMN is not formally affiliated with a Meeting it adheres to the Quaker majority requirement. Members of Twin Cities Friends Meeting, Minneapolis Friends Meeting, Prospect Hill Friends Meeting, and Cannon Valley Friends Meeting have served on the School Committee. 

School Committee 

2018-2019 School Committee Members

  • Evelyn Christian Ronning, Clerk
  • Julie Eddington, Asst. Clerk
  • David Bael, Finance Clerk
  • Laura Halferty, Recording Clerk
  • Dawn Zugay
  • Jeanine Holden
  • Jeff Severns Guntzel
  • Christine Salomon
  • Sarah Pradt
  • Sheila Williams Ridge
  • Mary Lilly
  • Chris Dart
  • Peter Demerath
  • Carolyn Carr
  • Rick Juliusson, ex-officio

Standing Committees

Much behind-the-scenes work at FSMN is done by standing committees of the School Committee. Membership on these committees includes School Committee members, parents, staff, other Quakers and other interested individuals.

Current Standing Committees

Ad-Hoc Committees

Ad hoc committees are formed for a specific task or objective, and dissolved after the completion of the task or achievement of the objective. There are no current ad-hoc committees.

Bylaws of Friends School of Minnesota

Download a pdf of the bylaws